Florida A&M University
Department of Physics
Home Contact Us Florida A&M University

Faculty Profiles

Joseph A. Johnson III Joseph A. Johnson III
Distinguished Professor of Science and Engineering, Professor of Physics, Affiliate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Director, Center for Plasma Science and Technology (CePaST)

103 Centennial Building (CePaST)
Tel: (850) 561-2471
Email: johnsonj@cepast.famu.edu

Ph.D. Physics - Yale University 1965

My experimental research group in interested in turbulent systems. Currently there is a focus on plasma turbulence, specifically, glow discharge, microwave induced and laser induced plasmas as well as moving and stationary plasmas behind ionizing shock waves with implications for remote sensing, breakdown spectroscopy, materials characterizations, aeronautics, astrophysics, fusion and new approaches to fundamental turbulence physics. This research is supported in part by funds from the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy, the National Science Foundation and the State of Florida.


Mogus Mochena
Kalayu Belay
Ronald L. Williams
Joseph A. Johnson III
Mario R. Encinosa
Bidhan Saha
Lewis Johnson
Robin J. Kennedy
Halina Niculescu

Keith Jackson

The faculty, staff and students in the dept. of physics conduct research in over 40,000 sq. ft. of space that houses state of the art equipment. The faculty investigators have received nearly $40 M in federal and state funding to support their research activities.

I'd like to invite you to consider the persuit of graduate degrees in physics, particularyly the Ph.D. degree

Dr. Keith Jackson, Vice President of Research and Professor of Physics.


Charles A. Weatherford

The Florida A&M University (FAMU) Dept. of Physics is in the midst of a period of rapid progress. A new Ph.D. program, in addition to our existing B.S. and M.S. programs, in Physics, started in the Fall of 2001.

The research facilities and productivity have expanded at a rapid pace since that time. Undergraduate and graduate student support, including tuition support, is available for qualified students.

Dr. Charles A. Weatherford
Chairman Department of Physics.